Last updated: 2026-09-26
Personal Drive Backup is used only by its owner. It uses the Google Drive API through rclone to create, list, read, update, archive, and delete files in the backup folders that it creates in the owner's Google Drive. This access is used to maintain a current backup, retain earlier versions for approximately 30 days, check the backup, and restore files when requested by the owner.
Backup files remain in the owner's Google Drive. The rclone configuration and OAuth credentials remain on the owner's Mac. This website does not receive backup files or OAuth credentials.
The workflow does not use Google Drive data for advertising, sell it, or share it with other users. The owner can revoke access in their Google Account and remove the backup files from Google Drive.